ASC Names Award-Winning Student Films

Bookmark and Share

Mon, 06/17/2013 - 11:27 -- Nick Dager

The American Society of Cinematographers announced the winning films in the 2013 ASC Harris Savides Student Heritage Awards June 15th in a ceremony in Los Angeles at the organization’s clubhouse. The awards are designed to showcase the artistic abilities of the next generation of filmmakers, with a focus on their cinematographic abilities.The winners and honorable mentions are:


Winner: Ryan Broomberg of Chapman University with “The Bright Side”

Honorable Mention: Petr Cikhart of AFI for “First in Flight”

Honorable Mention: Martin Kobylarz of AFI for “Wolves from Another Kingdom”


Winner: Mishka Kornai of Chapman University for “Straight Down Low”

Honorable Mention: Nick Reinhard of Florida State University for “Cootie Contagion”

Honorable Mention: Daniel Rink of Brooks Institute for “Ai”


Winners: Drew Heskett and Ryan Westra of Chapman University for "We are the Land"

Honorable Mention: Dan Duran and Sam Price-Waldman of Chapman University for “Wolf Mountain”

Each year, the ASC Heritage Award is rededicated in memory of an individual who advanced the art and craft of cinematography. This year's award is dedicated to the memory of Harris Savides, ASC. Savides earned Independent Spirit Award nominations for his photography of of Gerry, Elephant, Last Days, Milk and Greenberg.

In 2008, he was nominated for a BAFTA for American Gangster. Savides was known for his stunning cinematography on such acclaimed films as The Game, The Yards, Finding Forrester, Margot at the Wedding, Zodiac and Somewhere. He was highly lauded for his imagery of award-winning music videos for artists such as Madonna, R.E.M. and Michael Jackson, among others.

“Harris wasn’t just an amazingly talented cinematographer, but also a wonderful person,” says Richard Crudo, ASC president. “His point of view and artistry have left a lasting impression on the filmmaking community, and for these students and the generations after them, his influence will have a profound effect.”

To qualify, professors at film schools recommended one student for each category from their school, who then submitted their film for judging. A Blue Ribbon panel of ASC members judged the 135-plus entries.

The ASC Heritage Award was inaugurated for the purpose of encouraging filmmakers to pursue careers in cinematography. Past winners have gone on to prolific professions.

For additional information about the ASC, visit,