Michael Goi Elected to Third Term as ASC President

Bookmark and Share

Mon, 06/13/2011 - 20:00 -- Nick Dager

Michael Goi has been elected to serve a third term as president of the American Society of Cinematographers. The other ASC officers also voted in are vice presidents Richard Crudo Owen Roizman and John C. Flinn III; treasurer Victor J. Kemper; secretary Fred Goodich; and sergeant at arms Stephen Lighthill. Members elected to the ASC Board of Governors include John Bailey Stephen H. Burum George Spiro Dibie Richard Edlund Fred Elmes Francis Kenny Isidore Mankofsky Robert Primes Kees Van Oostrum Haskell Wexler and Vilmos Zsigmond. I am honored to be re-elected by a membership that is filled with tremendously talented and accomplished artists says Goi. It is a privilege to represent an organization that is committed to educating aspiring filmmakers as well as advancing and protecting our art form. Some highlights for the ASC over Goi's last term include the organization's first International Cinematography Summit Conference and the successful launch of the Friends of the ASC program. The ASC hosted cinematographers from around the world at the ICSC to discuss the tools and techniques that are being used in different regions address where the profession is headed and establish an open dialogue about issues concerns innovations and common goals. Friends of the ASC was introduced in 2010 to support the ASC's primary goal of educating budding filmmakers. The program includes unprecedented access to exclusive content about lighting camerawork and associated technologies as well as access to industry events featuring ASC members. Goi is a Chicago native who studied filmmaking at Columbia College Chicago. He launched his career shooting PBS documentaries while he was still a student. After completing his education in 1980 Goi began shooting local commercials and documentaries. He also opened a studio where he concentrated on fashion and product still photography. Goi earned his first narrative film credit for Moonstalker in 1987. He has subsequently earned some 50 narrative credits for feature films and episodic television programs. Goi earned ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards nominations for the telefilms The Fixer (1999) and Judas (2005) and an Emmy nomination for an episode of My Name is Earl (2009). His credits also include Witless Protection Fingerprints Red Water What Matters Most Who Killed Atlanta's Children? Christmas Rush Funky Monkey Welcome to Death Row The Dukes the Emmy® Award-winning documentary Fired-Up: The Story of Public Housing in Chicago and the TV series The Wedding Bells The Mentalist Mr. Sunshine Web Therapy and The Nine Lives of Chloe King. He also wrote produced and directed the narrative film Megan is Missing. Goi is a member of both the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the Academy of Television Arts And Sciences and serves on the National Executive Board of the International Cinematographers Guild. The American Society of Cinematographers