Dolby Cinema Wins Red Dot Award for Design

Tue, 04/07/2015 - 12:03 -- Nick Dager

Dolby Cinema has earned a 2015 Red Dot Award for outstanding product design. Since 1954, the Red Dot competitions have been among the most renowned international product design competitions, with annual awards selected by the Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen in Germany, known worldwide as a "qualification and communication centre for industry, politics, and society."

Wendy Aylsworth to Receive Inter-Society’s Ken Mason Award

Thu, 03/26/2015 - 11:50 -- Nick Dager

Entertainment industry veteran Wendy Aylsworth, senior vice president, technology, Warner Bros. Technical Operations, has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the Inter-Society for the Enhancement of Cinema Presentation’s Ken Mason Award, honoring an individual who has made outstanding long-term contributions leading to the overall improvement of the motion picture experience. Susie Beiersdorf, president, Inter-Society, made the announcement.

The Digital Cinema Report Catalyst Award

Wed, 03/25/2015 - 11:48 -- Nick Dager

Digital Cinema Report is pleased to announce the introduction of the Digital Cinema Report Catalyst Award. The first award winners will be chosen from among the companies exhibiting at this year’s National Association of Broadcasters show in Las Vegas April 11-16. The winners will be those products, technologies or services that best help advance the motion picture business.

Alexandra Raffé Wins the Douglas James Dales Industry Builder Award

Thu, 03/05/2015 - 12:54 -- Nick Dager

Rob Sim, president and CEO of the Sim Group of Companies, today announced that Alexandra Raffé, vice president of production for Thunderbird Films, is the recipient of the 2015 Douglas James Dales Industry Builder Award. The award was presented to Raffé at the annual PS Dinner on the Hill, held during the Canadian Media Production Association Prime Time Conference in Ottawa.

Codex Congratulates Emmanuel Lubezki on Historic Double Trio

Wed, 02/25/2015 - 12:48 -- Nick Dager

Codex congratulates Emmanuel ‘Chivo’ Lubezki AMC ASC on receiving the 2015 Best Cinematography Awards at the Oscar, BAFTA and American Society of Cinematographers awards ceremonies for his work on director Alejandro González Iñárritu’s Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue Of Ignorance), which employed Codex recording technology at the heart of its camera-to-post workflow.

Six SMPTE Members Earn Honors

Wed, 02/25/2015 - 12:36 -- Nick Dager

Six Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers members have been recognized with top awards — including two Oscars — from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. The Academy's Scientific and Technical Awards honor the men, women, and companies whose discoveries and innovations have contributed in significant, outstanding, and lasting ways to motion pictures.


Autodesk Supported All 5 Best VFX, 7 Best Picture Oscar Nominees

Tue, 02/17/2015 - 15:23 -- Nick Dager

The role of technology in the service of great storytelling continues to evolve, and this year's Academy Award nominees reflect the impressive artistry of the global computer graphics industry. From Best Pictures and VFX, to Best Cinematography, Animated Features and Shorts, Autodesk media and entertainment software played a supporting role in the creation of many of this year's most acclaimed movies. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences also recognized Autodesk technology with a Scientific and Technical Achievement Award.


Motion Picture Sound Editors Present the 2015 Golden Reel Awards

Mon, 02/16/2015 - 11:34 -- Nick Dager

The Motion Picture Sound Editors presented the 62nd MPSE Golden Reel Awards at a black-tie ceremony at the Bonaventure Hotel in Los Angeles. Golden Reel Awards recognizing outstanding achievement in sound editing were presented in 20 categories encompassing feature films, long-form and short-form television, animation, documentaries and other media. Supervising sound editor Craig Henighan presented the annual MPSE Filmmaker Award to Darren Aronofsky. Re-recording mixer Greg Orloff presented the Career Achievement Award to Supervising Sound Editor Skip Lievsay.


Subscribe to Awards