Joy Ride to Receive CinemaCon Comedy Ensemble of the Year Award

Bookmark and Share

Tue, 03/21/2023 - 13:36 -- Nick Dager

The cast of Lionsgate’s Joy Ride will receive this year’s CinemaCon Comedy Ensemble of the Year Award, said the convention’s managing director Mitch Neuhauser.

The cast of Lionsgate’s Joy Ride will receive this year’s CinemaCon Comedy Ensemble of the Year Award, said the convention’s managing director Mitch Neuhauser.CinemaCon, the official convention of the National Association of Theatre Operators, will be held April 24-27 at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. The cast of Joy Ride will be presented with this special honor at the Big Screen Achievement Awards ceremony taking place on the evening of April 27 at The Colosseum at Caesars Palace and hosted by official presenting sponsor The Coca-Cola Company.

Following a raucous and critically acclaimed debut at this year’s SXSW, Lionsgate will bring Adele Lim’s directorial debut Joy Ride to the CinemaCon audience on that same afternoon.

From the producers of Neighbors and the co-screenwriter of Crazy Rich Asians, Joy Ride stars Ashley Park, Sherry Cola, Oscar nominee Stephanie Hsu, and Sabrina Wu as four friends who embark on a once-in-a-lifetime wild international adventure. Directed by Adele Lim the film is set for release only in theaters on July 7.

The screenplay is by Cherry Chevapravatdumrong and Teresa Hsiao, with a story by Cherry Chevapravatdumrong and Teresa Hsiao and Adele Lim. The film is produced by Point Grey’s Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg, James Weaver, and Josh Fagen, alongside Chevapravatdumrong, Hsiao, and Lim.

"The cast of Joy Ride delivers a fearless and over-the-top hilarious performance, one that will delight audiences with their hysterical, no-holds-barred journey through friendship and self-discovery. This brilliant group of actors captures the very essence of the messy human experience," said Neuhauser. "We are excited to recognize their outstanding work with this year's CinemaCon Comedy Ensemble of the Year Award and can't wait for audiences to experience their unforgettable adventure."